Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (JEDI)

We support DPH's Behavioral Health Services (BHS) to create more equitable and inclusive services for our staff, clients, and communities.

Programs and services

Behavioral Health Services Act (BHSA)

The Behavioral Health Services Act supports county public mental health systems by:

  • Raising awareness
  • Promoting the early identification of mental health problems
  • Making access to treatment easier
  • Improving the effectiveness of services
  • Reducing the use of out-of-home and institutional care
  • Eliminating stigma toward those with severe mental illness or serious emotional disturbance

Learn more about BHSA (formerly known as MHSA).

Cultural and linguistic competency

We are committed to developing and maintaining health services that are culturally competent, consumer-guided and community-based. Cultural competence is an essential requirement for health care providers to provide effective services to our diverse populations.


Learn more about our cultural and linguistic competency resources.

Trauma informed system (TIS) initative

Trauma is a pervasive, long-lasting, public health issue that affects our public health workforce and system. The TIS Initiative at the San Francisco Department of Public Health (SFDPH) supports organizations in creating contexts that nurture and sustain trauma-informed practices.


Learn more about the TIS Initiative.