

Minutes

Committee on Information Technology Meeting

Thursday, January 19, 2023

10:00 am - 12:00 pm WebEx Online Event

Members

Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair Linda Gerull, Chief Information Officer, Department of Technology Michael Makstman, Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Technology Sophia Kittler, Director, Mayor's Office of Innovation Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors Ben Rosenfield, Controller Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency Sheryl Davis, Executive Director, Human Rights Commission Charles Belle, Public Member

1. Call to Order by Chair

Katharine Petrucione called the meeting to order at 10:04 AM. Jillian Johnson provided instruction on how to give public comment, and conducted the roll call.

2. Roll Call

Members Present

Katharine Petrucione for Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair Linda Gerull, Chief Information Officer, Department of Technology Michael Makstman, Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Technology Sophia Kittler, Director, Mayor's Office of Innovation Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors Todd Rydstrom for Ben Rosenfield, Controller Kate Howard for Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources Eric Raffin for Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health Jennifer Hopkins for Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library

Michelle Geddes for Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management

Rene Leedeman for Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport Lisa Walton for Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency Natalie Toledo for Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency Charles Belle, Public Member

COIT Staff
Jillian Johnson
Julia Chrusciel
Danny Thomas Vang
Neil Dandavati

Guests

Odcoto		
Kate Van Horne	Rohit Gupta	Alex Graham
Roland Tolosa	Michael Bahler	Calvin Yan
Steve Clark	Keith Kawas	Paul Peterson
Zhi Li	Matt Riley	Paul Yep
Will Sanson	Kait Hambly	Diana Aroche
Wayne Li	Grace Ybanez	
Dale Riley	ChiaYu Ma	
Cynthia Ngo	Andy Velasquez	

3. General Public Comment

Public commenter David Pilpel provided feedback on how they believe that SF.gov is not intuitive and has issues with its format; how future meetings should still have hybrid access; and how IT spending should be focused on projects/processes that save operating costs.

4. Approval of the Consent Agenda (Action Item)

- **4.1** Resolution Making Findings to Allow Teleconferenced Meetings under California Government Code Section 54953(e)
- **4.2** Approval of Meeting Minutes from November 17, 2022

There was no public comment.

The resolution and minutes of November 17, 2022 were approved unanimously by Katharine Petrucione, Linda Gerull, Michael Makstman, Sophia Kittler, Aaron Peskin, Angela Calvillo, Todd Rydstrom, Kate Howard, Eric Raffin, Jennifer Hopkins, Michael Lambert, Michelle Geddes, Rene Leedeman, Lisa Walton, and Natalie Toledo.

5. Surveillance Technology Policy - Fine Arts Museum - Security Cameras - Camera Management and Video Monitoring System - (Action Item)

Paul Peterson presented their Camera Management and Video Monitoring System Surveillance Technology Policy and Surveillance Impact Report for review.

Aaron Peskin recommended clarifying which specific law enforcement departments may receive data from the cameras, such as the District Attorney and the Police Department.

Public comment was opened and David Pilpel asked how data sharing would work amongst city staff versus non-city staff, as they believe that the Fine Arts Museum has a combination of both types of employees.

Aaron Peskin initiated a motion approving the policy to move forward for review by the Board of Supervisors. Sophia Kittler seconded.

The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote. Katharine Petrucione, Linda Gerull, Michael Makstman, Sophia Kittler, Aaron Peskin, Angela Calvillo, Todd Rydstrom, Kate Howard, Eric Raffin, Jennifer Hopkins, Michael Lambert, Michelle Geddes, Rene Leedeman, Lisa Walton, and Natalie Toledo voted aye.

6. Review and Approve 19B Annual Surveillance Report Resolution (Action Item)

Jillian Johnson presented the 19B Annual Surveillance Report Resolution to the Committee on Information Technology.

Aaron Peskin requested that the Police Department provide more details on the following, and to include them in their memo to the board.

- Explanation of how the policy violations are a result of the gap in time it took to distribute the notification on the facial recognition ban
- Explanation of how the third and fourth cases are related to the same incident, and that all four cases are linked to two individuals
- Plans for remediation moving forward, such as: trainings, required readings, and future notification to members

Katharine Petrucione asked the Police Department to work with COIT Staff on these items. Todd Rydstrom recommended providing more guidance on what information is required and which ones are not, as there were inconsistencies across departments around: public information requests, inventory, costs, complaints, and violations.

Public comment was opened and David Pilpel recommended to include a cross-reference list for technology for each department and the number of pending policies in the cue.

Aaron Peskin initiated a motion approving the report to be submitted to the Board of Supervisors. Sophia Kittler seconded. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote. Katharine Petrucione, Linda Gerull, Michael Makstman, Sophia Kittler, Aaron Peskin, Angela Calvillo, Todd Rydstrom, Kate Howard, Eric Raffin, Jennifer Hopkins, Michael Lambert, Michelle Geddes, Rene Leedeman, Lisa Walton, and Natalie Toledo voted aye.

7. Review the 5-Year ICT Plan Draft Outline

Jillian Johnson presented a draft outline of the FY2024-2028 5-Year ICT Plan for discussion by the Committee.

Angela Calvillo and Kate Howard asked clarification questions on the second-year budget, individual department trends, determination criteria when looking at other funding streams available to departments, and funding opportunities for departments who have not submitted proposals in the last five years. Michael Makstman suggested to conduct a deeper analysis of projects costing under \$100,000.

Public comment was taken and David Pilpel recommended including a section on the city's telecommunications strategy in the ICT Plan.

8. Chair Update

Katharine Petrucione introduced Aaron Peskin as a new member of the board, and announced that the emergency order for COVID-19 will end at the end of February 2023. In-person meetings will be held in City Hall Room 305 starting in March.

There was no public comment.

9. CIO Update

Linda Gerull presented on ChatGPT and its potential application in the government space, as well as provided an update on the Cloud Center of Excellence.

There was no public comment.

10. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:33 AM.