Draft Minutes

Committee on Information Technology Meeting

Thursday April 7, 2022 10:00 am – 12:00 pm Webex Online Event

Members

Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair Linda Gerull, Chief Information Officer, Department of Technology Ashley Groffenberger, Budget Director, Mayor's Office Shamann Walton, President, Board of Supervisors Ben Rosenfield, Controller Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library Ian Law, Chief Information Officer, San Francisco International Airport Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency Sheryl Davis, Executive Director, Human Rights Commission Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors Charles Belle, Public Member Nnena Ukuku, Public Member

1. Call to Order by Chair

Carmen Chu called the meeting to order at 10:07 am.

2. Roll Call

Members Present

Carmen Chu
Linda Gerull
Ashley Groffenberger
Natalie Gee for Shamann Walton
Todd Rydstrom for Ben Rosenfield
Kate Howard for Carol Isen
Eric Raffin for Dr. Grant Colfax
Jennifer Hopkins for Dennis Herrera

Michael Liang for Michael Lambert Rene Leedeman for Ivar Satero Mary Ellen Carroll Lisa Walton for Jeffrey Tumlin Natalie Toledo for Trent Rhorer Angela Calvillo Charles Belle Nnena Ukuku

COIT Staff

Jillian Johnson Julia Chrusciel

Guests

Kelly Powers	Catherine McGuire	Kevin Carroll
Jessica Lum	Daniel Herzstein	Matt Cagle
Marissa Rodriguez	JH	Melanie Medina
Randall Scott	Jennifer Jones	Michael Costanza
Sina von Reitzenstein	Saira Hussain	Mukund Rathi
Stacey	Business Owner	Rodney Fong
		Zach Porianda

3. General Public Comment

There was no general public comment.

4. Approval of the Consent Agenda (Action Item)

4.1 Resolution Making Findings to Allow Teleconferenced Meetings Under California Government Code Section 54953 (e)

4.2 Approval of Meeting Minutes from February 17, 2022

Carmen Chu introduced the items on the consent agenda. Todd Rydstrom moved to approve and Lisa Walton seconded. The consent agenda passed unanimously.

5. Surveillance Technology Policy: Police Department Non-City Entity Cameras (Action Item)

Asja Steeves presented on the Non-City Entity Camera Surveillance Technology Policy and Surveillance Impact Report on behalf of the Police Department and introduced several amendments to the policy.

Public comment was given.

Lisa Walton made a motion to accept the amendments proposed by the SFPD and Linda Gerull seconded. A vote was taken. Carmen Chu, Linda Gerull, Ashley Groffenberger, Todd Rydstrom, Kate Howard, Eric Raffin, Jennifer Hopkins, Michael Liang, Mary Ellen

Carroll, Rene Leederman, Lisa Walton, and Natalie Toledo voted to approve. Natalie Gee and Angela Calvillo voted against approving. The motion was adopted.

Carmen Chu suggested that the policy be continued to the next COIT meeting to allow COIT members more time to read the amendments in-depth and to give the public more time to review the amended policy. Linda Gerull moved to continue the item to the next COIT meeting on April 21st and Jennifer Hopkins seconded. A vote was taken and the motion was unanimously approved.

6. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10:49 am.