

Committee on Information Technology

Office of the City Administrator

San Francisco City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Suite 352

Minutes

Privacy and Surveillance Advisory Board Meeting City and County of San Francisco

> Thursday, March 31, 2022 8:30 am – 9:30 am WebEx Online Event

Members

Jillian Johnson – Chair, Director, Committee on Information Technology
Guy Clarke – IT Governance Director, San Francisco International Airport
Mark de la Rosa – Director of Audits, City Service Auditor, Controller's Office
Michelle Littlefield – Chief Data Officer, Data SF and Digital Services
Mike Makstman – Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Technology
Taraneh Moayed – Assistant Director, Office of Contract Administration
Nnena Ukuku – Public Member

1. Call to Order by Chair

Jillian Johnson called the meeting to order at 8:33 am.

2. Roll Call

Jillian Johnson Guy Clarke Mark de la Rosa Michelle Littlefield Mike Makstman Taraneh Moayed Nnena Ukuku

COIT Staff

Julia Chrusciel

Guests

Ivy Lee
Andres Power
David Lazar
Asja Steeves
Diana Oliva-Aroche
Lee Hepner
Matt Cagle

Mukund Rathi Sameena Usman Regina Esaus Jade Wang-Angelestro Andres Power Ivy Lee Diana Oliva-Aroche

3. Department Updates & Announcements

There were no department updates and announcements.

4. Review and Approval of Surveillance Technology Policy: Non-City Entity Cameras (Action Item)

Asja Steeves and Deputy Chief David Lazar presented the changes to the policy on Non-City Entity Cameras on behalf of the Police Department.

Jillian Johnson summarized a letter submitted to COIT and the San Francisco Police Chief on March 30th from the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) and ACLU of Northern CA. The letter objected to the approval of the Police Department's policy as presented to PSAB on March 25th.

Public comment was given.

Mike Makstman made a motion to approve the policy for COIT's review under the condition that SFPD amend the policy to prohibit live monitoring of cameras within residences and consider clarifying the policy definitions and use cases where appropriate, per the EFF/ACLU letter. Guy Clarke seconded. Mike Makstman, Guy Clarke, Michelle Littlefield, Mark de la Rosa, and Jillian Johnson voted to approve the policy to move forward to COIT with the recommended amendments. Taraneh Moayed and Nnena Ukuku abstained from the vote. The motion passed to be reviewed in the next COIT meeting.

5. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

6. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9:01 am.